Konocti cannot die!

I grew up listening to audio cassettes of Billy Joel, Cindy Lauper, Robert Palmer, Paula Abdul (hahaha) and my favorite—at the time—The Everly Brothers. I saw them perform at Konocti Harbor Resort & Spa as a kid (thanks to loving parents who brought their kids with them on all their vacations) for my first concert ever. I’ve also seen Hall & Oates put on an incredible show there. Good memories all around.

OUCH!

OUCH!

Last weekend I was staying in Clear Lake with some friends (awesome photos coming soon!) and the lake house just happened to be a few blocks down from Konocti. Styx, REO Speedwagon and .38 Special were all performing the second night I was there! I was excited as we’d be able to hear the outdoor concert from our balcony at such close proximity. One of our visitors ended up going to the concert, but came back not even an hour later. It was canceled.

Just imagine twisting and turning your way into Lake County for hours to see some of the greatest bands ever at a beautiful resort on a perfect concert day, and it’s canceled. Ouch. Turns out some lighting equipment/roof fixture fell during .38 Special’s first song (and yes, they were the first band to perform). OUCH. Oh, and did I mention this is part of the “Can’t Stop Rockin'” Tour? … OUCH!

HA!

Okay, I have to laugh now. The Can’t Stop Rockin’ Tour … STOPPED ROCKIN! AAAAAHAHHAHA. That’s exactly why if I ever open a business I’ll never use the words “eternal” or “forever” or “everlasting” or any conjugation thereof in the name of my product … WAY to much pressure to succeed… It would be funny to open a store called “We’ll Never Go Out Of Business,” only to purposely have it go out of business a month later. Ahhhh, if only I had lots and lots of money.

Here's a look of the empty stage. I'm not 100%, but I believe the two green borders on the top left are supposed to be connected. Yikes! I don't think anything fell, or anyone got hurt, so, yes, according to TBS it is "very funny"

Here's a look of the empty stage. I'm not 100%, but I believe the two green borders on the top left are supposed to be connected. Yikes! I don't think anything fell, or anyone got hurt, so, yes, according to TBS it is "very funny"

Anyway, Konocti has been good to Solano Magazine. They have donated in the past to our Classic For Kids fundraiser and have left me with some fond concert memories. But way out in the middle of nowhere, it may be hard for Konocti to bounce back from this monumental disaster—you don’t wanna tell Styx they can’t perform and have to stop rockin’ for the night … impossible … they’re RENEGADES! 😉  So support Konocti Harbor! But wait until they fix their roof. Otherwise, KonoctDIE will catch on faster than Obama’s fist jab.

Leave a Reply

